Why does the Pigott Squid have so many tentacles?

squid

I really enjoy my day-to-day experience in the Pigott Building. The classrooms are nice, the Bottom Line serves delicious food and drinks, and it isn’t too far from my dorm. With all of that said, one dark aspect of Pigott haunts me every time I step foot into that building…

Why does the Pigott Squid have so many tentacles?

It’s a simple question, but I doubt it has a simple answer. The squiggly glass enigma has teased the students of Seattle University from the moment it was installed above the main entrance to the Pigott Building. It’s clearly supposed to resemble a squid (or any other cephalopod) due to the prevalence of its tentacles. But why, WHY, are there so many?

Could it be a metaphor for the excess that has come to dominate the American lifestyle? A coded message for only the smartest business students to decipher? I have several other theories, but none of them satiate my thirst for the truth.

I fear this truth shall never come to light.
— Ronnie Dhoads

Leave a Reply

